The Mom-Tographer | Great Camera Gear for Moms

12 years ago I picked up my first camera and became a “Mom-Tographer.” I started with a little canon point and shoot camera. As the years went on, I learned more and more about photographer and used my oldest child as a model. When I first started I had no idea what I was doing.

Point and Shoot

149847_1453911035920_2730641_n
RIP Eric, We love you.

Advanced Point and Shoot

81MK3mB6XIL._SL1500_This image was shot using a canon point and shoot, it wasn’t as fancy as today’s great point and shoots and as you can see this was taken in 2006, I no longer have the original image either. The Canon PowerShot SX720 HS is a 20.3 MP camera and is a great option for someone that has a little more money to start with that doesn’t want to start using a DSLR. 

 

81KnxfIrWuL._SL1500_A cheaper option would be the Canon PowerShot ELPH 180. It is still a smaller point and shoot but a more afordable option for someone that just wants to take snapshots of their families. It is a 20 mp camera and still highly rated on Amazon

 

As I learned more, my mother gifted me a advanced point and shoot, or bridge camera. These are a little different as they have a larger body and more options on modes you can shoot in.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

81obKwiq7PL._SL1500_ The Fujifilm FinePic models are wonderful and highly rated also on Amazon. I used one of these for years before I got my first DSLR. Ignore my editing in these images, as I had no idea how to edit back then, but this has been a favorite camera of mine over the years. It had also prepared me for my DSLR and also helped me be use to the size of a DSLR. This camera helped me capture many many memories and my best friend still has this camera today.

DSLR

When Rhyan was about 3 months old, I bought my first DSLR. I loved my Canon Rebel T3I, but this model has been discontinued by Canon. I also started to teach myself photography with this camera from The Digital Photography School online, a great resource for learning.

71qN4sq2P0L._SL1000_

The Canon Rebel T6i is one of the current models and is a wonderful camera in my opinion. The bundle here is also great for just starting out and getting everything you need to start learning. I no longer use the flash that you get in these bundles and I have also upgraded my kit lenses, and I will show you those two things in just a moment. But, the remote, bag, cards, and even the lenses are great for just learning. Actually when I started school this was just about the same kit I received from the Art Institute.

I am actually still using a Rebel as we speak but I am wanting to upgrade to a 5D, that is for my own work, but It is a dream camera of mine. I am slowly building up to get it.

71fEjITeanL._SL1500_

If you are looking to upgrade your lens, my favorite cheap lens to upgrade to is the Nifty Fifty. The Bokeh on this lens is my favorite thing about this lens other than the price point.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Odysseys Homeschool

Our Homeschooling Site

Wandering Dawgs

Wandering around Georgia and beyond

a monosyllabic dude's world

Pstt...Nobody got time for taglines

The Hunt And Peck Blog

Take a deep breath

SHUBHAM

Keep writting

Urban Poetry

She's an Urban Pen spilling ink in inspiration and words.. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

It's a Lovely Life with The Reese Family

A Single Mom Lifestyle Blog

